People eat more processed food than they did in the past. Why is this? What are the effects of this?

Prepared foods are more consumed now by people than in the past. This is because processed products create convenience for those with busy lifestyles. However, daily consumption of them can lead to some health issues.

Products, such as canned or packaged foods have been very popular among individuals. There are various groups of people who find it difficult to have a proper meal due to lack of time during work or studies. In fact, such products can act as a quick snack in order not to waste time. A well-known car manufacturing company, Tesla, requires its employees to have a quick meal at work rather than going home, so that they can use their time efficiently.

On the other hand, this way of consumption can lead to several health issues like diabetes and reduced energy. Processed foods tend to contain lots of unhealthy elements, such caffeine and sugar which are key factors of diabetes. Furthermore, because canned and packaged products are not typically considered a proper meal, they do not provide sufficient energy to consumers. A recent study conducted in the famous basketball club, Golden State Warriors, indicated that players with diets deficient in protein and carbohydrates may underperform in the game or required tasks.

To conclude, people eat more processed foods than they did in the past. Due to the convenience provided for people with busy lifestyles, they are not bothered with cooking themselves. Despite this, this approach of eating negatively affects the health conditions.