People eat more processed food than they did in the past. Why is this? What are the effects of this?

People are eating more processed food in recent years than a few years ago. It is most likely due to the ease in making these processed food and their availability in shopping stores. The effects of having processed food are profound and can be seen clearly in today’s generation of kids with a lot of health issues and obesity.

The consumer mentality is on the rise and have been increasing from the past few years which directly contribute to people buying more and more processed food for the sake of their everyday ease. These foods are easy to make and are sometimes even cooked beforehand and consumers just need to buy it and their meal for the day is already ready. Due to the fast paced lifestyle, the ease of processed foods make the working classes lives more easier.

Even though, the popularity of processed food is just increasing with no stopping in sight its effects on the consumers health is quite evident and alarming. The rates of lifestyle disorders like diabetes, cholestrol and strokes are immensely high. More than 60% of children and adults are obese and the reasons circle back to their food habits and lack of awareness of what goes into the food items they are consuming.

To summarize, the hectic lifestyle is mainly the reason why people opt for processed foods as it makes their lives a tad bit easier. Although it is causing people to have huge health risks and an increase in obesity rates, consumers do not care about the long term effects their choices in food have on them.