People eat more processed food than they did in the past. Why is this? What are the effects of this?

People tend to eat more processed food than they did many years ago. That is because the prices of organic foods have increased throughout the years. And in results to that, the average person weight more than they did in the past.

The prices of organic foods are getting higher and higher each year. People are now choosing to eat processed foods because it is more affordable to them. For example, a recent study showed that since 2010, each year the average prices of organic food are increasing by 10% while the processed food average prices are remaining the same.

People are averaging higher weight than they did in the past in effect to high processed food consumption. Processed foods are higher in calories compared to organic foods. A recent study compared the average weight of people who are following a diet that is mainly consist of organic food, against the average weight of people who are following a diet that restricted to processed food only. And the results showed that the second group weight twice as high as the first group does.

In conclusion, people are now consuming more processed foods due to its cheapness compared to organic foods. And consuming processed food results in weight gain.