People living in 21st century have a better quality of life than the previous centuries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that modern people have a better quality of life than those who lived in the past. Although people in the past enjoyed cleaner environment, I agree with this statement because of the advancements in medical field and improvements in technology.

Since the number of cars on the road and operating factories were noticeably less in the past than now, the environment people were living was cleaner, which means the individuals of the past consumed the healthy food and breathed the fresh air.

Despite this privilege, many suffered from severe illness due to lack of proper medical facilities. Improvements in this sphere lead to increased life expectancy, since severe health issues have higher rate of being cured. For example, in the past 2 out of 10 people would die because of cancer, but it decreased to 1 out of 10 in the modern world. Therefore, individuals now have a better life condition.

Besides the development of medicine, advancement in technology is another reason for the better life of people living today. In the past, it took much time to communicate with people abroad and people were less literate. Improvement in technology though, not only saves time but also positively effects education, which means that the contemporary people spend less time for any activity and they are more educated. Thus, people have a better quality life than those who lived in the pre-industrialized times.

In conclusion, despite past people living in the less polluted environment, I agree with the statement given because of the improvement in medical field, which lead to increased life expectancy. Additionally, technological advancement is the another reason.