People nowadays work hard to buy more things. This has made our daily lives generally more comfortable, but many traditional values and customs have been lost and this is a pity. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In modern society, in order to improve the quality of their lives, people buy a range of items that allow them to live more comfortably. Some people claim that as a result, we have moved too far away from established beliefs and conduct, and that this is regrettable. However, I believe that we should take full advantage of the money we earn to enrich our lifestyles, and that we should progress rather than being stuck in outdated traditions, so there is no cause for regret.

It is claimed that consumerism has done harm to our society because the morals upheld by previous generations have been steadily eroded as we have become too focused on our own comfort. People who hold this opinion contend that values such as respect for the institution of the family have declined in importance, and that this is a shame. However, it is important to remember that many of these so-called values disadvantaged substantial numbers of people. For example, it used to be believed that women should stay at home, clean the house and bring up children. Now, thanks to labor-saving devices bought using salaries of hard-working men and women, families have more time together, and surely nobody misses the unfair old societal norms.

It is further claimed by some that traditional rituals such as those related to family or social events have become overshadowed by people’s desire to acquire new possessions and that this is regrettable. However, such customs continue to thrive in so-called consumerist societies. Wedding rituals, for example, have remained unchanged, and of course newly-weds now receive more gifts than they did in the last – all bought by the proceeds of people’s work. Other customs are enhanced by consumer goods such as video cameras and mobile phone as more people can enjoy traditional events either remotely or after the event. Therefore, nothing is lost and there is no need for regret.

In conclusion, traditions have not been swept away by the desire of people to buy things that improve their lives. It is true that some less-desirable societal norms and habits have gone, but their passing is nothing to lament over.