People nowadays work hard to buy more things. This has made our daily lives generally more comfortable, but many traditional values and customs have been lost and this is a pity. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that an increasing number of people tend to buy multiple items in order to make their life more enjoyable while others think it can pose a significant challenge to keep traditional values and customs alive. In my opinion, I agree with both of view. On the one hand, buying different things provide greater convenience, efficiency, and amusement to people as these things can be utilised by people to maximise their quality of life. For example, when people buy electronic appliances such as TVs, microwaves, ovens, dishwashers, and computers from the shopping centre, they can save more time and energy at home to relax. People can use computers to work at home, rather than taking a long time to commute to work. Housewives can use dishwashers to wash dishes and save more time for them to spend quality time with their children. Businessmen can watch TV to ease their stress from the overwhelming workload at work.

On the other hand, consuming many products from the market can inevitably contribute to the loss of traditional values and customs in society. Firstly, it can cause the closing of restaurants that make traditional food as people intend to order online or buy fast food, rather than go to traditional restaurants to enjoy a proper meal. Meanwhile, as people develop habits of ordering food online to eat at home alone, cultures such as traditional social gatherings for mealtime in many countries are disappearing rapidly. People get used to spending time alone and don’t have a sense of community compared to before. In conclusion, buying a wide range of items can definitely bring enjoyment and convenience to people’s lives, but it can also pose a huge threat to traditional values and culture.

In conclusion, buying a wide range of items can definitely bring enjoyment and convenience to people’s lives, but it can also pose a huge threat to traditional values and culture.