People should follow the customs and traditions when people start to live in anew country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an ongoing debate about whether individuals who live foreign country should adapt that country’s traditional rituals. In my view, although they learn and accept them, people should not completely forget their own customs and traditions.

One of the reasons why people believe that migrants should follow the other country’s customs is that it provides integration and social harmony. This is largely because respecting other culture’s traditions serves as a deterrent to conflicts which may occur in the state. For example, almost all countries have their own dress-codes and public behaviors which they value. If some foreign people who lives there wear unsuitable dresses in public places or behave unethically, in that case different controversial situations may happen. Therefore, following other culture’s customs is instrumental in peaceful coexistence.

Nevertheless, people should not completely abandon their own customs and rituals since it has various benefits for the country. This is mainly because cultural diversity plays a crucial role in enriching the society. For instance, they may organize various traditional festival which allows smoother integration. It is know that, being multicultural strengthens country’s tolerance and dynamic. Thus, maintaining their country and other countries’ rituals creates an opportunity for social harmony.

In conclusion, some argue that people who lives abroad should fully follow this country’s culture while I firmly believe that striking a balance between cultures is one of the effective way to maintain harmony and integration.