People today are more materialistic than in the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a view that with the rapid development of society people start to become more materialistic than ever. I completely agree with this statement for several reasonse.

One reason behind my agreement lies in the fact that today having normal life conditions often increased requirement on physical possessions.As a result every step of individual’s daily life may become connected with functional things.For example people usually need cars to get to work effortlessly, machines to do chores quickly.In other words such things give access to comfortable life,which make people to care about material possessions more.

Moreover,popularity of social media also affects individual’s intention to pursue material things.Compared to before,today influencers on tiktok and Instagram actively post stories from perfect life.This results in creating an assumption among public about ideal lifestyle,which encourage people to follow them.To take brend the Dyson which is often advertised by famous bloggers for example. Due to the luxury bloggers who advertise them, this brand is associated with richness,which causes its valuing role in the society. So by that people may start to value such material things more.

To the conclusion, l firmly agree that now people are materialistic than in past, as development of technology and social media’s popularity influences people to value and pursue material things more.