Plastic waste has become a major environmental concern worldwide. Why is this happening, and what can be done to reduce the problem?

Plastic pollution has become a significant environmental issue worldwide. One of the major causes for this is due to individuals who are indifferent to recycling and taking care of the environment therefore, littering as if it means nothing. To combat this, governments should mandate the usage of biodegradable materials such as paper as much as possible especially for packaging since it is one of the most littered parts of a product.

One of the leading causes of plastic pollution is the amount of people who simply do not care about recycling or protecting the environment. Although there are many organizations who make efforts to clean up polluted places, those efforts are cancelled out by the volume of individuals who are simply careless about recycling and litter everywhere. The idea of a single person who recycles and makes a noticeable difference seems radical to individuals which is why most do not even bother to recycle.

A proposed solution to this is that governments should mandate the usage of eco-friendly materials such as paper especially on product packaging and for all else where it is possible to do so. Assuming that all products were biodegradable, littering would simply cease to be an issue since the things littered by people are biodegradable and would not cause any harm to the environment. Organizations which make their products ecofriendly already exist and can be seen integrated in many different products and packagings, such as cardboard mesh for protecting and dampening impacts caused by shipping the product and so on.

All in all, changing the composition of goods is more likely to mitigate the issue of plastic pollution since it is not optimal for the masses to adopt an ecofriendly lifestyle quickly.