Pollution in large cities is becoming a serious issue. What are the main causes and effects of this problem?

Nowadays we can see that in many cities around the globe pollution levels have noticeably risen in recent years. A lot of cities become more polluted because of human’s irresponsible behavior and it has crucial effect on our health and level of life in general

I reckon that many cities are more polluted than others mainly because of bad, inappropriate to its size and population infrastructure and build of the city. For instance if we are talking about huge megapolices with millions of people that live there, like Mumbai, New-York, Beijing, Tokyo and many others. It is seen as a really poor situation with an inconvenient public transport system, in that case most of the people are choosing to buy their own vehicle such as car or scooter, which obviously leads to worse ecological condition of the area because of exhaust fumes , as well as amount of fabrics and other facilities that pollute region. Also number of people living there affects pollution situation in city, to illustrate, only in Mumbai lives around 20 million of people which cannot help but pollute the environment with their activities.

Therefore high pollution levels lead to negative effects on the quality of life and health of the people. In big cities people are more likely to be caught by some illnesses because of a lower immune system in comparison with a person that lives in the countryside or suburbs.

To sum up, If we look into this problem from the perspective of all human history we can see that human beings have never lived in this kind of environment. And this can be the main reason for this problem. With all this quick progress, our system has not adapted and evolved to this lifestyle.