"Prevention is better than cure. It is more important to educate people on healthy lifestyles than to treat illnesses after they occur." To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Public health is a consistently relevant subject, as individuals seek methods to enhance their life expectancy. From my viewpoint, I believe that educating individuals about health, especially how to prevent it, is always better than curing them.

The first reason is to reduce the health system’s pressure because the fewer patients, the better the quality of care for those who are seriously ill. This strategic approach is highly recommended in the less developed countries, where public health and infrastructure are still facing significant limitations. Protecting citizens through education brings about more advantages to these nations. For example, during the covid-19 pandemic, the Vietnam government has connected to hospitals to teach people about this dangerous disease through social media, TV programs, and other platforms, which led to the decrease in death relative to other countries such as the United States, China,…

The second reason is that prevention instead of treatment can cut down on costs, and that the government has more opportunities to invest in other fields that contribute to national development. Financing nutritions, vaccines and raising awareness about diseases can ward off chronic illnesses like diabetes, high pressure blood, liver cancer,… For instance,the annual cost of vaccines is much lower than the amount of money spent on the treatment of those common diseases.

In conclusion, it is certainly true that the best way for a country to get through a wave of diseases is to provide health education for every citizen. With this strategic approach, the country can save money and minimize pressure on its healthcare system.