“Prevention is better than cure “. Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventative measures. To what extent do you agree?

Undoubtedly the focus on the society health care system should be on protecting it from getting ill. Different benefits exist, ranging from being affordable to avoiding complications arising from the preventable conditions. This essay will explain why its advantageous to safeguard the community from transmissible infections. Firstly, the most affordable way to ensure the population has the highest attainable health care is to ensure that prevention measures are adhered to. There is ample evidence that controlling transmission of infections, early detection and treatment of various conditions is cheap. There are several studies to support this, for example a study by ministry of health in Kenya showed that the budget for preventative medicine is lower than that of curative medicine. This has led to the government investing more on the preventative care model by ensuring co munity volunteers are empowered. Complications occur during disease progression. While they can be treated at the advanced stage, early diagnosis and treatment is better to avoid irreversible effects of sicknesses. Timely management of the ailments could possibly lead to long term defects. this is according to a study done in Cuba that showed vaccinations has contributed to a significant reduction in COVID related advanced complications. As such it can be concluded that, while many believe that curative measures are better to manage disorders, preventive medicine is the best and economical.