Prevention is better than cure. Do you agree or disagree that out of the country’s health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health and education and preventive measures?

There is a discussion about allocating a substantial part of the national health budget to health promotion and disease prevention, which are shifted from health treatment expenditures. For the most part, I agree that fund reallocation on health education and preventive measures must be done.

Allocating a significant amount of money on treatment rather than prevention can have immediate benefits and some drawbacks. For instance, in emergency services and acute care settings, availability of advanced facilities can immediately response to the sudden health crisis and accidents. In addition, investing in advance medical technological equipment, which caters special procedures and treatments can improve the outcomes for complex health conditions and produce a rapid result. Nevertheless, these machines can be costly and not all patients can afford them.

Investing from treatment to prevention has long term benefits in terms of cost savings and improve public health. For instance, health campaigning about the various diseases and how to combat them, also increases the awareness and empowers the community to take charge of their own health. Moreover, acknowledging the risks factors and correcting them early, decreases the possibility for expensive treatments and hospitalizations.

Furthermore, early detection of diseases results in the improvement of life quality which in turn can be beneficial also to the economy. Having a health community means a more productive economic output. In particular, availing the health services of the Primary Health Centres, like free immunizations and health screenings consequently, reducing prevalence of chronic diseases. In addition, maternal and health services and promoting safe and responsible adult reproductive health, contributing to low morbidity rates and low teenage pregnancies.

To conclude, while funding treatments can address immediate care and produce a quick result, I still support the view of reallocating funds to health education and preventive measures. By informing and empowering the community can result to quality life improvement, reduced health costs and better economic output.