Psychological illnesses may not be as obvious as physical disabilities or illnesses. Nevertheless, they are just as disabling in their own way. Society, however, is more accepting of those with physical than psychological illnesses or disabilities, the latter being regarded as a 'taboo' subject sometimes. To what extent do you agree with this view?

I agree with the perspective of people with physical disabilities is more accepted in societies than people with psychological illnesses which their hidden disability features make them hard to identified in open environement. In my opinion, there are two things that made it is easier to navigate the physical disabilities in the societies compared to people with psychological limitation. First, it is about identification of right treatments and the second is about the socialisation towards the physicological illness itself. However, lately i found some communities role actually could help this problem in societies can be lifted up and the view of these type of disabilities can be more familiar with others. Thus, more equal opportunities will be offered to them.

For my first perspective, I aware that identify the people with disabilities is easier then with psycological limitation one. This reality makes tailoring their needs is more able to do. For instance, my office just moved to a new place last year and we decided to hold a mini audit to our workplace to see weather it is can facilited the people with disability movement or not. When we were processing the audit, i realised that we only think about people to navigate well their wheelchair or adjust a sign for our blind vision friends. Moreover, the communities that came to help us in auditing was not including the people with psycological illness which limit us in a view of what kind of treatment that we can provide to them. As a result, the workplace can address the need of friend with physical limitation but not yet answered the treatment for the mental health one.

The second perspective which is around socialitation of physicological illnes, it showed in my experience when i participated in audit office when none of the representative of psycological illness friend was invited. Further, we finally invited the communities and let them educate us about the best treatment that a workplace can offer for them. It is resulting wthe increase of our awareness about the treatment and how to identify them in society so we can support them better. It was happened because we involved the communities that actually hold the knowledge for this.

In conclusion, the involvement of the right communities will help people increase their understanding of people with both limitations. Moreover, their views not only can be a sharing stories to tell but moreover can help creating a better environment for them partcularly in work situation. This can also open more opportunities for them to live independently and feel empowered.