public celebrations are held in many countries. while some people say that this celebrations are waste of money and we should spend money on more important things. do you agree or disagree

It is argued that spending a great amount of money on public celebrations is wasted, and this should be focused on more essential criteria. I partly disagree with this opinion for several reasons, which will be discussed below.

On the one hand, it is understandable why celebrative activities obtain high investments. Specifically, holding entertaining events requires plenty of resources and time, including proper preparation to improve facilities such as roads, marketing locations, backfires, and others. In France, for example, the government reportedly spent over $500.000 just to clean the river for swimming players in the Olympics 2024. Thus, many nations should prioritize budgets on other aspects of society, like the economy, healthcare, or education.

On the other hand, there are many compelling reasons why carrying out communal festivals would be beneficial for the country’s development. First, many fascinating holidays can attract a great number of both local people and international tourists, who are pretty keen on learning about new cultures and interests. This results in boosting the company’s profits and economic growth. For instance, should audiences come to see the Olympics, they may enjoy and buy many souvenir gifts or local food, like keyrings or mascot bears of this year. Second, through publishing the traditional beauty and culture of their history, these events reinforce the national pride and gratitude of citizens overall and the young generation specifically. In Vietnam, for example, Tet is a crucial holiday, when everyone stops working and relaxes for a long time, obtain a lot of traditional activities, such as decorating houses, visiting grandparents, worshiping ancestors, and receiving lucky envelopes.

In conclusion, I disagree with the idea that we should prioritize important factors rather than celebrating events because it helps countries promote economic enhancement and raise individual awareness of national pride.