Q. These days, more fathers stay at home and take care of their children, while mothers go out to work. What could be the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

These days, an increasing number of fathers are staying at home and taking care of their children while mothers are playing the role of main breadwinners. There are several reasons for this change, and I believe that it is a negative development.

A key driver for this shift is the emergence of gender equality in every aspects of life in society. Nowadays, females can achieve higher educational qualifications, and afterwards they work in high-paid jobs. However, women rights were not equal in the past, and they were frequently limited with childcare and home chores. While women now tend to work full-time and significantly contribute family care as a whole, men are often busy with childcare and nurture.

Another reason why this is case that fathers are better and stricter at growing up their children than their mothers. It does mean that fathers can better focus on nurturing their children both physically and mentally. According to scientific analyzes fathers equally involve education and labor work while they are nurturing, leading to the overall development of a child. This father’s nurturing style makes children active in school, and they can achieve higher academic success.

Despite the emergency of gender equality and father’s positive influences to childcare, I still believe that it is, overall, a negative shift. This is because if mothers still stay at home and deal with childcare instead of fathers, the respect between men and women in the families would be maintained. In fact, women now are showcasing their disrespect to their men counterparts since they have started earning money, and proved their ability to support themselves without men, leading to discrimination of men values. Apart from this, mothers are also significantly responsible for children and their growing, as mothers can teach them basic life skills that fathers cannot, such as hygiene and cooking to important social-emotional skills, like kindness, resilience, and empathy.

In conclusion, although the development of gender equality and father’s better influence to children’s growing are the main factors why many mothers are working instead of fathers, I still believe it is a whole negative change, as men highly likely lose their values if the case continues. Therefore, fathers should bear family care responsibilities.