Q. These days, more fathers stay at home and take care of their children, while mothers go out to work. What could be the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

It has been a shift in the roles in many families, with mothers working and an increased number of fathers staying at home to look after their children. While the root causes of this phenomenon are attributed to females outperforming their male counterparts and the promotion of gender equality, I hold the view that this trend is more disadvantageous for the whole society.

One of the significant reasons for this development goes hand in hand with the fact that many women show greater academic success compared to men. More often than not, females are expected to possess better intellectual ability, which can help them to thrive in the long term. By working rigorously and pushing their limits, females can succeed in many fields. Furthermore, the promotion of gender equality has to do with this trend. In other words, the notion that both genders are equal has made people question traditional family roles, leading fathers to stay more at home. This altered perception has been a driving contributor to reshaping the family roles, thereby

I believe that this trend should be seen from the negative angle, as it goes against long-established views. With more males sitting at home and taking care of their children, the patriarchal structure of society can weaken. Despite exaggerated statements about gender equality, the idea that men are breadwinners and women are caregivers seems more rational. This is because mothers’ genuine care cannot be replicated by anyone, and unless females give a proportionate amount of attention to their children, they are more likely to miss out on important aspects of upbringing. Furthermore, this contrast in the roles can detrimentally affect men’s mental well-being. Sitting at home and spending time with children can potentially force men to feel a sense of lost identity and reduced self-worth, especially if they are used to being the main providers.

In conclusion, while the main drivers of men staying at home and being tied up with children rather than mothers are mostly the outearning of females and heavily encouraging gender equality, I believe that this trend should still be viewed as a negative development, as it challenges traditional family roles and may lead to social and psychological consequences.