Q. These days, more fathers stay at home and take care of their children, while mothers go out to work. What could be the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

In contemporary society, it has become common for mothers to work while their husband take on childrearing at home. In my opinion, a societal factor regarding the perception of working mothers is at play, and I believe that this trend is beneficial to society, considering the possibility that it can promote workplace equality.

One aspect contributing to the change of roles within households is that an increasing number of women are now able to assume a managerial or an executive position at work. In the past, although it was generally possible for women to return to work after childbirth, the chance of receiving promotion was slim; as a result, many of them felt that it is impossible to resume their career, choosing to become a housewife and look after their children at home. However, owing to the change in societal norms, corporate executives now believe that promoting women into higher positions is conducive to their companies, which enables women to continue working. Consequently, their husbands are instead encouraged to take care of children.

This societal change could be beneficial to society overall, especially in terms of addressing inequality at workplaces. Conventionally, due to the societal expectation that women should stay home and care for children, many workplaces were dominated by men; many women were deprived of promotion because of their gender, even if they were more efficient than their male counterpart. Yet, if more women are able to win promotion and assume a higher position, gender inequality at workplaces should be ameliorated.

In conclusion, transformation in the roles within households regarding childrearing stems from the change in how corporations assume the importance of women at work, and I believe that this is a welcoming trend that could combat gender inequality.