Question: In many professional sports, there is an increase in the number of athletes using banned substances to improve their performance.What are its causes and solutions

An increasing number of athletes who use prohibited substances to improve their performance. Tha main causes are severe competition and a lax testing system, and the viable solutions are implement heavy punishment and revamping test facilities.

The primary cause of this problem is the stiff competition. As can be observed, athletes have to take substances to give themselves an advantage over other strong opponents. Another reason is weak testing procedures. Therefore, many cheaters may get off scot-free due to the holes in testing system. For example, after the game in London 2018 it found that many athletes have used banned substances.

A viable solution is implement and enforce strict laws and punishments. If there would be high tax for using banned substances, the athletes would think twice before using substances. Additionally, development of testing amenities would be one of the best solution. Because, a high level of the test system will ensure that test results are accurate. For example, many rich countries use expensive latest equipments for checking athletes.

In conclusion, strong competition and lax testing system are the main causes of this problem, and the suitable solutions are implement of heavy punishment and reforming testing system.