Recent research suggests that the majority of criminals who are sent to prison cimmit crimes after they are released. Why is this case ? What can be done to solve this problem ?

It is widely recognized that incarceration is the most commonly employed method of countering serious crimes. Recent studies, however, indicate that the bulk of ex-convicts revert to crime following their release. I believe the causes of this problem lie in ex-prisoners difficulties in social reentry, and in order to curb recidivism, the government should focus more on rehabilitation programs and awareness-raising campaigns.

Most former inmates return to a life of crime largely because they find it extremely difficult to reintegrate into society. The public seemingly still has a hostile attitude towards ex-convicts, even when they have been successfully rehabilitated. This stigma manifests itself starkly in the way those with criminal records are often turned down when looking for employment, and in the way they frequently receive insulting criticisms of their previous criminal activities. Being jobless and ostracized, as a consequence, could make them hold a grudge against society, which then becomes the breeding ground for further crimes.

To reduce recidivism, the following steps should be taken. First, it is important that the government mount more campaigns aimed at mitigating social discrimination against former convicts. In tandem with this, rehabilitation and support programs for this group of people are also a great necessity to ensure that they find a job to support themselves, and more importantly, that they do not feel a sense of exclusion from society. This has proven successful in Norway, a country with reportedly the lowest recidivism rate in the world. Their success is mostly attributed to their focus on giving ex-prisoners a second chance at life by providing education, special job opportunities and mental health counseling.

To summarize, what seems to be at the core of former inmates recommitting crimes is the countless challenges involved in their social reintegration. For this reason, the government should ramp up its efforts to reduce the social stigmatization of these individuals, as well as offer better rehabilitation and support systems. By doing so, their likelihood of falling back into crime could be reduced.