In some countries,it now possible to buy a wide variety of foods transported form all over the world.to what extent the benefits of this development outweigh the drawbacks?

In the contemporary world, imported goods such as fruit, vegetables and groceries are accessible to consumers worldwide. Through this transition, buyers can enhance their lifestyle, but imported food often has an expiry date, so the freshness of food will become an issue of concern.

On the one hand, the availability of internationally sourced food products offers a variety of fruits and vegetables and their by-products, which helps to upgrade the lifestyle of individuals. For instance, imported salmon fish enriched with omega-3 is available at the nearest supermarket, so the customer can improve their diet and lifestyle. There’s a strong global market for the producer to sell their goods.

On the other hand, food with a shorter shelf life is a major concern for our health. Consumers should be aware of the expiry dates written on the products because some foods that were not sold rapidly may expire, affecting buyers as well as sellers. Moreover, imported food comes with a higher price due to the cost of the global food supply chain duties and often needs cold storage and a cold supply chain after entering the country, which incurs additional costs.

In conclusion, the availability of internationally sourced products has a positive merit in its ability to enhance users’ lifestyles and concerns of higher price and shorter shelf life are the demerits.