Recently, most cities are becoming crowded. Why do we have such a problem? What should we do to reduce this problem?

Nowadays, various cities are becoming overpopulated. In my opinion, the main reason behind this issue is the amenities and services that these cities offer, and to address it, governments should allocate an equal budget for developing other cities and countryside areas.

The main indicator that drives more individuals to live in these urban areas is the high-quality facilities that they offer. Compared to other cities in the world, they may offer an advanced level of recreational facilities, a healthcare system, and public transportation which motivates more people to relocate to these places. Additionally, many of these cities provide high-paying job opportunities which may look appealing to many individuals to move to these cities. For example, San Francisco in California is the heart of technology development and many enormous technology brands such as Apple, Meta, and Amazon, which made it an ideal location for IT experts to live, as they can leverage a high frequency of high-paying job offers and create a high-quality life for themselves and their families.

To address this challenge, I believe governments should allocate more or equal budget to developing undeveloped cities, so an increasing number of citizens will be interested in not relocating from them. Suppose poor urban districts are provided with attractive amenities and services as advanced cities. In that case, people will lose their interest in leaving them, especially because they could have emotional attachments to their hometown, such as school years or family moments which increase their will to stay in them. Furthermore, governments, governments can adjust housing prices by making popular cities’ house buying and renting prices significantly less affordable to prevent more citizens from relocating to these areas. For instance, annually thousands of Iranians abandon their hometowns to live in the capital city of Tehran, as it has a better healthcare system and more job opportunities; as a result, the Iranian government decided to considerably raise house prices in this city to stop more Iranian to come to this city permanently.

In conclusion, I believe the root cause of most cities’ crowdedness is the features they have compared to other cities, and to help this problem to be resolved, governments must spend more money on developing other cities, and make popular cities less popular by doing actions such as increasing living costs in them.