- Recently telemedication has gained ground and the number of people who consult doctors online has been increasing. Do the benefits of this trend outweigh the drawbacks?

With the advent of modernity various aspects of human life have undergone tremendous changes and medicine is no exception. In this sense, it has been argued that telemedication can be viewed as a viable surrogate to in person consultation, which seems to stand as a divisive matter among people. In fact, there are some who hail this evolution as positive whereas their opponents view it as a threat. Although I can empathize with both sides but I am inclined to say that the pros overshadow the cons.

On the opponents’ side, the first drawback that it is generally underlined is related to the fact that the risks of mis-diagnosis .Their objection to this new trend is based on the idea that doctors must consult their patients in person in order to evaluate their medical and clinical state which can be viewed as a justified concern if we take into consideration various real life examples where many virtual medical consultations resulted into wrong diagnosis .

Yet, regardless of these downsides, I am still persuaded that the benefits are more interesting and convincing. As a matter of fact, it is evident that this trend – pattern has some positive outcomes such as catering for more availability and flexibility in terms of medical services especially in the areas where there is a shortage of medical staff and the best and clearest illustration that can cited in this context is that during the outbreak of Covid millions of patients across the globe where treated online.

In balance and with both perspectives considered I am convinced that telemedicine and online consultation have their pros and cons yet with proper approach the benefits will be more compelling .