recycling is a waste of time. individuals cannot do enough to make a significant contribution to the problems of rubbish. to what extent do you agree.

Recycling is an unimportant activity. People cannot do enough to make a significant contribution to the problem of rubbish. I disagree because even a little help can be crucial for solving environmental problems.

First of all, an individual produces an enormous amount of rubbish every day. It may seem not a big issue, however the situation changes when we understand the amount of waste produced by one household or the whole region. If at least one small part of the rubbish was recycled, it would reduce the amount of waste released into the nature and the wildlife would be more protected.

Secondly, people now invent different ways to recycle, which is almost enough to stop the problem of rubbish. Nowadays many types of waste can be processed, not only paper and some of the plastic things.

However, there are people who are convinced that human beings cannot do enough to contribute to the problem of rubbish. They think that mankind does not know how to recycle all the rubbish produced because now the waste is very versatile and technologies for processing it have to also be very different. Moreover, the procedure of recycling can also be very environmental unfriendly, producing too much CO2 and polluting air. These people also suppose that it is more important to change the mindset of a person instead of simply recycling everything. To stop the overconsumption problem, people have to change their habits and try to reduce the amount of rubbish the make.

Although I partially agree with my opponents, I firmly believe that recycling is essential for our environment because it decreases the amount of rubbish released into the nature.