recycling is a waste of time. individuals cannot do enough to make a significant contribution to the problems of rubbish. to what extent do you agree.

There is a widespread belief that recycling is wasting time owing to the reason that it is not give an enough impact on the reduction of garbage. I strongly agree with this notion for some reasons.

Recycling activity is becoming a common practice to decrease the amount of waste in the world. This action undoubtedly succeed to achieve its goals. To illustrate, given researchers show that the effort to reduce waste by converting waste into another product has contributed to the reduction of 20% of plastic waste in Indonesia, which depicts its effectivity. However, it must be pointed out that this solution is not a sustainable-based practice, where this process will result in many possible dangers for environment, namely the use of fuels in the manufacturing process. Therefore, recycling seems infeasible and ineffective because it is not tackle the root issue.

On the other hand, as far as I am concerned, the excessive production of litters is mainly caused by a consumerism lifestyle. For instance, massive consumption of appliances, when individuals purchase more products, such as mobile phones, laptops, and tablets, there will be a lot of unused products going to the landfill. As a consequence, there will be more waste collected in the dumpsites. To deal with this issue, reducing the consumption in the first place is a priority. Individuals can make a significant contribution to the problems of rubbish through reducing consumption, including buying second-hand products, trifting clothes, and using their possessions for a long time.

In conclusion, although there is a decline trend of the availability of garbage in earth due to the recycling activity, it is not as sustain as encouraging societies to be responsible consumers. Therefore, in my point of view, recycling is a waste of time, and the government should find suitable alternative measures to overcome this challenge.