Recycling is an important part of protecting the environment. Why is this? How could more people be encouraged to recycle?

It is believed that recycling plays a crucial role in preserving the environment. In my opinion, I totally agree with this idea, despite the argument that recycling is not as important as controlling carbon emissions during production process. In this essay, I will mainly discuss reasons why recycling is vital in protecting the environment and provide some examples to illustrate points. Then, I will suggest a solution to encourage people to recycle more.

Firstly, recycling helps reduce materials used in production, which means it could greatly reduce the root cause of environmental deterioration. Many studies have shown that just a little number of materials saved in production procedures could significantly reduce a large amount carbon footprint, which results in a better environment. Moreover, the model called “Circular Economy” is introduced to solve environmental issues caused by human, and recycling is one of the most important parts.

Secondly, recycling could also help with the waste management system of the country. Many households do not know how to properly deal with their waste in everyday life; thus, recycling can solve this problem by providing the common goal for these people. For instance, the German government provided bottle collecting machines for people to put their trash in and receive a small amount of money in return. This policy was successful, and it could save a lot of time and money spent on waste management.

While there are many ways to convince people to recycle, I personally believe that creating public awareness on the benefits of recycling alone is not enough. Incentives from the government also play an important role, so each nation should design their own measures. Many research claims that both financial and non-financial incentives can work, depending on each country’s context.

In conclusion, two key benefits of recycling consist of material reduction in production process and enhancing waste management system. However, in order to get people to recycle, incentives from the government should be implemented also.