Recycling is an important part of protecting the environment. Why is this? How could more people be encouraged to recycle?

One of many ways to protect our environment is by recycling. Recycling is essential to decreasing the number of waste products created. Because of that, we must encourage more people, or even the government, to recycle their waste.

Today, environmental issues are getting more spotlight than in years past. Floods in Jakarta, microplastics found inside various sea creatures, and, recently, microplastics found inside cows that we consume make people, especially environmentalists, worried about our earth’s condition for years to come. Because of that, one of the acts that we can do to protect our earth is to recycle. Recycling our waste, especially plastics, into other useful items can prevent us from creating more waste.

But, recycling may not be efficient if only a few people do it. Because of that, encouraging as many people as possible to do the same is needed. A large-scale movement on social media can be a solution. By creating content about our recycling behavior or educational content about recycling, we can inspire more people to do the same. An example of how this strategy can be very effective can be seen in the Indonesian government’s 2009 campaign against drugs. Even though, during that time, the internet was not popular and communication mostly relied on television, radio, and newspapers, the government proved the strategy was successful because of the decrease in the number of people who misused drugs. If we use the same strategy with today’s technology, more people will be encouraged to recycle.