Research shows that some activities are good for health and others are bad. Despite knowing that, millions of people engage in unhealthy activities. What is the cause of this? What can be done?

In the contemporary world certain people are addicted to unhealthy activities although they are aware of their negative ramifications. There several reasons behind it and coping strategies to tackle the issue.

A major reason is that self-destructive habits has become a mindset. In other words,individuals can not avoid health-threatening practices, although they highly desire to do it. Since they are accustomed to these activities they think that they will struggle to function without these habits. Another key consideration is inefficient laws. To elaborate, some countries do not impose legislative measures for drug and substance users or there are not any sanctions that limit sale and purchase of detrimental products. In this case, there are not special factors that deter users despite their awareness. As a result, lack of effective rules and weak willpower are the primal causes.

With regard to the solutions, the way forward could be rehabilitation programmes. For example if the attendance of individuals who are involved in health-damaging activities is high, they will be cured. In rehabilitation centers treatment methods not only eschew them to engage in unhealthy habits but also build their character positively. Introducing stringent laws can tackle the issue. For instance because of easy access to drugs or substances addicts can not break their established habits. Hence, with penalizing some companies, incarcerating lawbreakers, and monitoring areas strictly, countries can address the problem. Consequently, recurring campaigns and punishment-oriented approaches may be effective mechanisms.

In conclusion, I hold the view that poor policies and low persistence of humans complicate the process of avoiding detrimental engagements. Tough rules, proper maneuvers and rehabilitation initiatives may combat the problem.