Sample topic: People in the limelight have a responsibility to set an example for others by their good behavior. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, thanks to the rapid development of social media, the image of celebrities has become increasingly ubiquitous. These individuals tend to have great influences on the modern-day society. One school of thought holds that the famous are responsible for acting as an ideal role model for the public to encourage good behaviors. I totally agree with this statement as I believe in the impacts of well-known people.

To start with, famous people must display examples of polite and appropriate gestures because they have the power to influence the societal behaviors. Well-known artists such as singers or actors tend to appear frequently via posts on social networking sites. Their image is used for commercial advertisements or public campaigns. Thereby, these people’s statements can have a significant impact on people’s thought, especially in the era when supporting idols has emerged as a popular trend. It is observed that fans have a tendency to follow what their idols do. As a result, celebrities have to show positive attitudes to persuade people to follow good behaviors. Otherwise, their fans, which account for a majority of the society, will misunderstand what is suitable to do. All in all, well-known individuals should take on the responsibility of setting examples of acceptable behaviors.

However, there is a common argument against this statement showing that people with big fame also have the right to make mistakes. They strongly believe that behavioral shortcomings are natural and unavoidable with every single human. Although they have a point, they overlook the fact that celebrities’ image is remarkably essential for both themselves and the worldwide communities. If they are not aware of the necessity of maintaining an inspiring profile by keep committing crimes or bad behaviors, their professional careers will be destroyed soon by widespread criticism and disappointment. Therefore, the individuals whose activities influencing a wide range of people should actively protect their public recognition.

In conclusion, it is argued that people enjoying the aura of fame take on illustrating examples of good behaviors. I completely agree with this statement because these people’s actions impact greatly on the ways usual individuals act in their daily lives. In addition, the protection of the public image is also beneficial for the professional development of each artist.