School uniforms should be abolished in schools. Discuss to what extent you agree or disagree with this statement.

Some people believe that school uniforms should be declined in schools all over the world, while others think that students need to have uniforms. Personally, I agree that the government has to give pupils the opportunity to choose what to wear on their own, however there should be some restrictions.

It is common knowledge that some clothes might attract a lot of attention and impact the pupils’ academic performance. What I mean here is that the content on the clothes can distract students’ attention during lessons. For instance, some sketches on the clothes can attract people’s attention, especially if they are from famous movies among kids. Furthermore, bright and saturated colours can affect the nervous system negatively and even hinder the motivation for studying. Hence, schools have to control what kind of clothes students wear.

The argument in favour of allowing pupils to wear other clothes would be discomfort of school uniforms. This could be explained by the fact that some school uniforms are uncomfortable and they reduce movement and limit concentration. To take as an example, the uniform made of non-breathable materials does not absorb moisture properly. This might cause health issues, especially during hot days when the body releases sweat. In addition, school uniforms do not allow pupils to express their own personal taste in clothing style and restrict their self-expression. As a result, school uniforms have drawbacks in terms of comfort and sense of style.

In conclusion, while the uniform system in schools develops discipline and concentration during the classes, it has a negative impact on the physical and mental state of students. So, the government has to allow students to wear freestyle comfortable clothes, but they should be without any destructive content.