Schools are no longer necessary because children can get so much information available through the internet, and they can study just as well at home. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that with the advancement of technology, children are able to connect with a large amount of information through learning online at home, therefore, schools are no longer necessary. To my way of thinking, I partly agree with this statement and I will discuss my viewpoints in this essay.

It is a fact that modern technology enables students to have their personalized learning models, helping them study at their own pace. Firstly, there are many websites for students to study by themselves such as Khan Academy, which offers a variety of courses and grades for people of different ages. Children can learn a great deal of knowledge that is similar to the curriculum at school. Therefore, they can reduce a large deal of money instead of going to school. Secondly, online courses adapt to each student’s skill level. Students can choose which courses are suitable for them so they can acquire knowledge easily. Also, the Internet allows students to gain information that is even more advantageous in the sense that children can flexibly choose to study whatever subjects they are interested in.

However, online learning has many drawbacks. Firstly, this type of learning does not allow discussions between classmates so it leads to a lack of peer support. These courses do not offer learners face-to-face interaction which is still important to their understanding of the lessons. Secondly, there are a lot of distractions from the Internet while studying from an online website, which leads student to procrastinate their lessons. As a result, students may tend to lose focus during online lessons and this also contributes to lower results.

In conclusion, the Internet is a good way which help students a lot in personalizing learning models to study at home. However, their drawbacks in terms of decreased learning outcomes should be accounted for.