Schools are no longer necessary because children can get so much information available through the internet, and they can study just as well at home. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The Internet provides many invaluable assets to mankind, including assistance to education. However, the view that schools are made obsolete because of this invention is increasing in popularity. In my own subjective opinion, regardless of the usefulness of the net, educational institutions are still necessary for a child’s upbringing.

Needless to say, the world wide web plays a crucial role in our lives. Never before has humanity possessed such a wide range of information. Moreover, enhancing one’s intellectual awareness is made easier than ever as innumerable online training programs are available for the average user. On account of these merits, the net has undoubtedly had a major impact on not only education but also in all other fields.

Despite the Internet’s unmatched potential, at the moment there are no practical substitutions for the classroom. Firstly, children can feel a sense of belonging to the real world when attending classes. By connecting to fellow schoolmates and teachers, they are being one part of a big family. Secondly, full-fledged physical education cannot be provided online. Most school curriculums usually include many workout sessions per week, taking pupils’ well-being and health into consideration. Finally, studying at schools is not simply just an absorption of knowledge. There, students will learn common sense, manners, bonds, relationships and many more that the Internet doesn’t offer. For these reasons, I personally think that schools still have a place in this increasingly digital world.

In summary, although the Internet can teach children a lot in terms of knowledge, it is not the only thing a person has to learn. Traditional academies still exist and will continue thriving to fulfill other needs.