Schools are no longer necessary because children can get so much information available through the internet, and they can study just as well at home. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that whether schools are crucial or not due to a wide range of information through the internet allowing students to study the same when staying at home. From my point of view, I totally disagree with this statement.

It cannot be deniable that studying at home by searching the internet can bring several advantages for pupils. Firstly, the internet provides an enormous amount of information. With just a click, students can approach any kind of news from basic to expert, without disturbing their teachers. Moreover, learners can broaden their own knowledge through diverse learning materials. In contrast to the traditional teaching method, they are free to study lessons based on their interests and specializations. For example, by accessing some websites such as Khan Academy, children can watch educational videos to their liking, and receive information on many aspects, which is not educated in the obligatory curriculum at school.

However, it should not be forgotten that schools play an irreplaceable role in the study process. When studying at school, pupils not only obtain theoretical knowledge but also learn some soft skills, in which they may not be competent by just watching online videos. They can learn how to communicate and collaborate with peers through several group projects or interactions in class. This will be their strong point and assist them in future personal or professional relationships. Additionally, enrolling in schools can help children to expand their social circle and make new friends. To be more specific, Sergey Brin also met his friend Larry Page who will found the Google search engine with him in the future when taking a degree at Stanford University.

To put it simply, despite the benefit of the Internet regarding information accessibility, I believe that learning through the Internet cannot replace the role of schools.