Schools are no longer necessary because children can get so much information available through the internet, and they can study just as well at home. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s society, where there is a wealth of information available on the Internet, most people believe that students are able to study by themselves at home effectively without school. From my point of view, I contend that schools still play a vital role while youngsters can acquire knowledge with the help of online learning platforms.

Firstly, schools can provide a learning environment where students can also have social connections. Expanding circle of friends is making way for communication skills and even negotiating skills which help young people in the working environment so far. Moreover, both peer support and peer pressure impose immense encouragement to juveniles to keep studying hard and harder. To make the point clear, there is a supportive example that after online studying during COVID-19, most schools and universities all over the world let their students come back to traditional offline classes.

Secondly, extracurricular activities at school are a great way to enhance practical skills. Online courses solely offer theoretical knowledge which is a lack of practical skills that broaden students’ career prospects. Beside that, college admissions require practical skills to possess students that are not only brilliant at formal knowledge but also real life experience. For instance, many schools and universities have found summer camps or even international camps to give students the chance to learn more knowledge from practical activities and acquaintance with friends.

Another advantage of acquisition of knowledge at school is that schools can provide better direction. Tailor-made computer programs obviously cannot bring career direction for students, which means students should choose what next steps after graduation: studying higher education or working. Online platforms do not own teachers who have a closer relationship with students to give right advice. For example, direction given by schools is really essential for students who have little knowledge and experience to choose a future path.

In conclusion, sources on the Internet are extremely good for students, but schools cannot be replaced no matter what due to the abovementioned beneficial aspects .