Schools should focus on academic success and passing examinations. Skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwork should not be taught at school as it is better to learn these from family and friends. To that extent do you agree or disagree.

Ideally schools should focus on educational success only by academic development and qualifying examinations and should not focus on skills such as cookery,dressmaking and woodwork, while this skills are good to acquire from the family.I totally disagree with the given statement not only because the skills acquired never gets wasted but also for basic knowledge is required to learn the family skills.

The first reason why I disagree with the given statement is, schools should not be limited to academic progress but it should be looked at as a 360 degree development for the student.If schools also teaches skills along with academic curriculum, it will be in a way beneficial for the student only because students will have basic idea and firsthand experience at very young age.For instance, studies always proves that one can learn more by seeing the peers do the application of skills and by using their own psycho-motor skills.

Second reason for not believing in the given idea is that if any family has the particular skill sets running in the family from years then basic learning about the same in school will definitely going to help the student to acquire skill more precisely.For example,If the father and grandfather are chef then basic skills learned in school about cookery such as chopping onions and how to cut vegetables will definitely help the family to teach their prodigy well.

In conclusion,certainly not believing in the idea due to stereotypical expectation from school to teach only by academic means and not equipping students with good skill-sets. Learning anything from anywhere is always good for the students.Though there are some responsibilities for the parents to teach the basic survival skills to their ward.