Schools should focus on academic success and passing examinations. Skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwork should not be taught at school as it is better to learn these from family and friends. To that extent do you agree or disagree.

Cookery, dressmaking and craftsmanship in general is a valuable skill, yet people argue that schools should not interfere with that and must focus on academia. However, I would have to completely disagree because not only does craftsmanship teach a person how to use their hands, but also it nurtures creativity and patience.

To begin with, I believe that all schools should incorporate some sort of craftsmanship into their schedule because it allows kids to be more skillful with all types of tools and teaches them how to take safety measures. Schools in the city I grew up in never taught any sort of non-academic skills, but thankfully my mom had the time to teach me, and not all mothers do, meaning there is a population that during its whole school life does not learn or practice any hands-on skills. Such cases will never be able to come back from that loss of knowledge because everybody knows that its easier and more practical to learn something young and fresh rather than old.

Secondly, these skills most definitely impact creativity in a positive way. Many people, myself included, would see cooking and many other crafts as a form of art. With that said, not introducing such skills would be limiting children and their imaginations. It is a well-known saying that chefs might as well be called chemists, for what they do, is of no simplicity.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that all schools should be presenting some sort of crafts to its students. It will make those learners more creative, skilled, and undoubtedly more prepared for the future.