Scientific progress has transformed human life over time. How has science changed the world? Which scientific field has had the greatest impact?

Development of science has changed the life of individuals over time. Science progress digitalised both work and daily life, making life more convenient in many aspects. I believe that the field with the most impact is computer science.

In the 21st century the life of many people is heavily connected with digital devices. Nowadays, almost anyone has a smartphone which can be used for different purposes, such as calling or messaging someone from any part of the world in short amount of time, searching something on the internet or using social media. In last few decades, the smartphones and laptops became crucial for comfort life and many people cannot imagine their lives without them. Even at work individuals cannot manage without gadgets because most of the work now is heavily tied with computers and global network. However, it is noticeable that the life with gadgets is much more convenient. There is a special technology for each of the chores like robot vacuum-cleaner. Moreover, the invention of GPS or the invention of internet also made life a bit easier. For example, according to the research of Stanford University 83% of people admit that with technologies they have more free time for themselves and their family. Therefore, it is obvious that the effect of scientific progress is vast and mostly positive.

Development of computer science had the greatest impact in transforming people’s lives. Despite the fact that computer science started to develop in the middle of 20th century, nowadays it is most impactful. Basing on the physics and math, computer science invented computers – large machines, initially created for counting. Throughout the decades, computers transformed from heavy and large machines onto small ones that can fit on any table. Nowadays, computers are irreplaceable. People use them both at work and home. Moreover, computers serve as a core element for all digital technologies. Both laptops and smartphones are computers, just smaller. Computers did not only affected the daily life, they allowed science to develop into depths never seen before. For instance, according to the research of Oxford University, science developed further between 20th and 21st century than in before the 20th century, thus, computer science is most effective both in science and daily life.

In conclusion, development of science digitalised every aspect of human life, making it easier. The science field that had the greatest effect is computer science.