Scientists agree that many people eat too much junk food and it is damaging their health. Some people think that this problem can be solved by educating people, while others belive that education will not work.

The proliferation of fast food has long raised many concerns among consumers, particularly having a negative impact on people’s health. Measures are being researched and taken by authorities for junk food consumption restriction. While it is believed that education will largely contribute to the reduction in the amount of fast food consumed, I would contend that educational campaigns have little effect and should be incorporated with stricter resolutions.

It is unarguable that education plays a prominent role in raising public awareness of bad impact while eating junk food. With the advancement of technology and the booming of mass media, citizens get easy access to certified information provided by nutritionists, doctors through TV and the Internet. Consequently, they can deter themselves as well as give cautious warnings to relatives about unhealthy substances in fast food, leading to the dwindling in the consumption of alcohol. In addition, school curriculum from primary school to higher education levels can show practical demonstrations to students to enhance their acknowledgement of unforeseen and dangerous potentials of junk food; thereby, creating a more long-lasting effectiveness.

However, I am of the opinion that, basing on education only takes time and is likely not to approach everybody in a comprehensive way. This is because there is still existing a group of people deviated from education due to financial insecurity like those in the poor countryside or in mountainous areas. More examples to provide for the explanation are those who do not have money to purchase or follow any forms of media. Moreover, the benefits of fast food seem to outweigh its downsides owing to the convenience in the hustle and bustle of young people’s lives. It is probable that fast food is still one of their priorities in case of a hurry. Following that, levying high taxes is absolutely complementary to education in the junk food consumption deduction.

To sum up, whereas education does wonders to reduce the number of citizens choosing fast food to their preferences, it should not be performed solely, but to be combined with other methods like applying taxes.