Scientists have been warning for many years that to protect the environment, we have to limit the use of energy in our daily lives. Despite warning many people do not pay attention to this. What are the reasons for this and how can people be encouraged to save the environment?

Modernisation has been damaging the environment at an alarming rate. This fact is of great concern among scientists. Even though, we have been long warned by scientists to cut down on the daily energy consumption, many people seldom care. This essay will examine why such attitude exists among people and possible ways to change this.

Reducing the daily consumption of energy is a difficult task in today’s world. The primary reason why people cannot decrease energy usage is that it would cause them a great deal of inconvenience. Cutting down on power use, for instance, would require them to not only reduce car usage (in order to reduce the consumption of fossil fuels), but also cut down on using home appliances like air conditioners. Both air conditioners and cars are essential to make lives easier, especially in summers when people need them the most. Another reason why consumers don’t pay much heed to worsening environmental issues is that most effects are not immediate. People are mostly ignorant because they are unable to see immediate consequences of consuming energy. For example, the greenhouse effect or climate changes, take years to develop keeping people in a delusion that their actions are harmless to the enviornment.

That said, there are effective strategies to fight this ignorance among people at global level. Firstly, the government should take the responsibility to encourage people to lead more sustainable lives. To elaborate, they should improve the public transport so that more and more people will use buses and trains instead of their own cars reducing a great deal of harmful emission of gases toxic to the atmosphere. Furthermore, governments should advertise environmentally friendly lifestyles on television and radios diverting people’s interest towards such a way of life. Secondly, it is also every individual’s duty to take it upon themselves that they should protect the environment. For example, planting more trees in houses and schools can improvise the oxygen level in the atmosphere which has many benefits. Moreover, people should be concerned that they should not waste water and electricity, like turning off the lights when not needed and conserving water by not leaving the tap open can make a big difference.

To conclude, while there are numerous reasons to why people all over the world are least bothered about the environmental damage their day to day habits bring, there exists effective methods to bring a change. By implementing environmentally friendly guidlines we can see a healthy and sustainable future.