Scientists predict that all people will choose to speak the same global language in the future. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, as we can observe the English language is becoming more popular among different nationalities all over the world. In some countries it is a second official language, that is basically important to know. A lot of individuals learn English for their jobs, because the most developing companies require an advanced knowledge of this language. You can also hear English in different countries especially if they are popular among tourists. So, is that possible that English will replace another mother tongues?

I think, that this kind of future of the languages is quite possible, because in most countries people learn this language as children, so being an adult, they can already communicate freely. English has already become an international language and is getting more important. A lot of other nation languages are starting to disappear, and English easily replace them. So, it is the beginning of scientist’s prediction.

However, on my opinion, another definition of “language” is “independence”. When all countries would speak only in English, they will loose one part of their national independence, what is the beginning of the decline of states. All countries may disappear, and there would be only one huge state, whose people speak the same language.

In conclusion, I would say that the scientist’s prediction is really possible. However, it brings a lot of controversial discusses and would have a serious effect on the whole world.