Serious violent crimes among people who are under 18 are becoming more common. Some people think that children who commit serious crimes should be treated like adults, while others would say that they should be rehabilitated. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Major violent offenses are being carried out by children more often. While some would argue that they should get the same treatment that grown ups do, I believe that they should be treated differently and rehabilitation is a better option.

On the one hand, treating young violent criminals like they are over 18 gives the victims justice. Someone who has lost a loved one would find it very difficult if the perpetrator was not sentenced to prison because they are not old enough. They relative is still dead or injured no matter how old the criminal is. For example, a mother said that it was like the crime happening all over again when she heard that her son’s murderer was released earlier than expected because they committed the crime when he was only 12 years old. However, I believe that criminal’s age should be taken into consideration due to the fact that they are not fully developed as human beings.

On the other hand, it is thought that children who carry out acts of violence are not aware of their actions because of their age. A young child does not know, to the same degree as adults, that their violent actions will result a death or a serious injury. That is why young murderers in the UK are rehabilitated and given new identities so that they can live a normal adult life outside of prison. I believe the second option is more preferable because it helps the young criminal reform and ensures that they do not carry out serious crimes again.

In conclusion, although sending young criminals who have committed violent atrocities to adult prisons gives the victims some justice, the criminals themselves should also be seen as victims, because they were not aware of their actions and that is why trying to make them model citizens again is more preferable choice.