Serious violent crimes among people who are under 18 are becoming more common. Some people think that children who commit serious crimes should be treated like adults, while others would say that they should be rehabilitated. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There have been more severe crimes caused by adolescents who are under 18. While some people believe that they should serve harsh punishments like adults to ensure safety in society, I oppose this opinion because rehabilitation helps children to rejoin society better.

It is thought that teenagers committing serious crimes should receive strict sentences that lessen danger for others in communities. Children are being the targeted subjects of many hardened criminals and being exploited for bad purposes, as they are easily influenced by others’ behavior and mindset. As a result, they tend to imitate such dangerous actions, such as reckless driving or drug abuse, so that they can earn respect from other people and demonstrate their unique personality. For example, children who often bully their friends are more likely to violate school rules, which even leads to violence and murder. This not only affects the physical health of their victims but also leaves distressed memories and lifelong trauma. From another viewpoint, I strongly object to this opinion since their cognitive ability has not been totally developed, which results in limited vision and an arrogant attitude.

On the other hand, rehabilitation can provide better opportunities for juvenile offenders so that reintegrating into their communities is easier. A custodial environment is not a suitable environment for them over time because this place holds different crimes from various ages; therefore, this can pose a risk for their safety and development over time while getting exposure to these people. However, with humanitarian punishments from governments for juvenile delinquency, adolescents are facilitated a favorable environment to reflect on their own mistakes and rebuild moral values. This is why some detention centers are more preferable for integrating some vocational programs into schemes to educate teenagers and help them stay motivated for their future instead of being guilty in prison and harsh penalties.

In conclusion, although similar punishments on both children and adults reduce crime rates and potential risk for society, it can make the rehabilitation of these teenagers more difficult unless they are given more leniency to fix their flaws and promote their personal growth legally.