Serious violent crimes among people who are under 18 are becoming more common. Some people think that children who commit serious crimes should be treated like adults, while others would say that they should be rehabilitated. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Major crime commitment amongst children has become a regular occurrence. Some people believe those children should be punished like adults, while others say they can be redeemed in a milder way. This essay will consider both views and give an opinion.

People who are under 18 might commonly commit seriuos vehement crimes and become accountable for their offences. Due to the strong crime they should get severe punishment as adults. For example, if a child kills other person or impaires his abilities, you can no longer treat him as a child. Otherwise, it will convey a wrong message to majority, like nothing happens even if you end another human’s life. When children see the outcome, they will think twice before breaking the law in a serious way.

However, there are two sides of a coin. Some children might cause a crime under the influence of drugs or alcohol, or even as a self defence. Therefore person’s age should be taken into consderation, before issuing the final verdict. Young underdeveloped phychology of a minor citizen is not a subject for a real testimony. If they get punishment like older citizens, their whole nature will be ruined and society will receive a cruel criminal afterwards. This person might crave for a revenge or even impact innocent children and push them into unlawful acts.

To concude, after weighing pros and cons of both views, this essay agrees with the view of giving people under 18 a chance for corrections by not punishing them the same way as people over 18.