Shopping is becoming more and more popular as a leisure activity. However, some people feel that this has both positive and negative effects. Why is shopping so popular? What effects does its increase in popularity have on individuals and on society?

In this day and age, consumerism is becoming a way of amusement and some individuals argue that this has benefits and drawbacks.This trand is mainly due to Advertising and marketing campaigns launched by companies. As a result, this negatively affects this nations’ development.

To embark on, the main reason why people buy luxury products is because of the influence that multinational marketing campaigns have on them. This means that when consumers are surfing the Internet or watching the television, they are bombarded with messages and ads. For example, the fashion chains of Prada and Channel feed people the idea that if they want to look gorgeous he have to purchase their commodities.Thus, what can be said is it is these corporations deceive and entice people into purchasing unnecessary goods by using glamorous models to represent their brands.

Nevertheless, one outcome of compulsive purchasing is that people become pressurized and stressed as they want to follow the latest inventions. In other words, if customers continue to spend their money in an impulsive way, they will become financially unstable. Another effect of this trend is that shopping doesn’t develop the individual physically and intellectually as they prefer buying to doing recreational activities. Hence, not only is uncontrollable shopping a waste of money, but it also may lead to monetary issues

In conclusion,after this essay has manifested the points mentioned above, it can be reiterated that shopping should only be for the essential goods and not for mere amusement. However, there are many people who are being manipulated by transnational enterprises.