Shopping is becoming more and more popular as a leisure activity. However, some people feel that this has both positive and negative effects. Why is shopping so popular? What effects does its increase in popularity have on individuals and on society?

Shopping has become very popular as a leisure activity in our revolutionized world. With the advent of technology and the rise in the use of social media platforms, it has also been marketized as a means to draw the attention of friends, family, and followers. With the rise in per-capita income of individuals, our world has also been shaped in a way to increase the spending power of a family by advertisements and consumerism fostering a culture of materialism.

It is very important to understand that shopping does come with its positive and negative effects. Some individuals who are striving to become popular using social media or make a career in the film, television, or fashion industry need to keep themselves updated with the latest products in the market. For some, the workplace culture demands them to be in the latest trend to attract clients that will expand their business. This creates a demand to spend their leisure time visiting nearby shopping malls, and investing in materialistic items, and also boosts their self-esteem increases their dopamine levels, and brings them happiness. On the negative aspect lies the fact that many people are investing in depreciating items just because of the exposure to online communities that are getting famous by utilizing advanced technologies. Such big companies are advertising the need to shop more as a sign of wealth and success.

With the rise in inflation, there is a need for young individuals to invest more in assets than in materialistic items. This popularity creates a hollow society where low economic status people are pretending to be rich however, the actual rich people are getting richer. This also creates a disparity in the younger generation that follows a pattern of spending more rather than investing and saving more. Individuals who are caught up in the vicious cycle when facing financial crises tend to default on our banking institutions or even go on a path to crime. In conclusion, while it makes sense for some people to spend their leisure time shopping, it comes to an individual choice to utilize the resources rationally.