Shopping is becoming more and more popular as a leisure activity. However, some people feel that this has both positive and negative effects. Why is shopping so popular? What effects does its increase in popularity have on individuals and on society?

Shopping has become one of the most popular activities in our society, and it is a fact that more people are doing it on their free time just for fun. But, why is shopping becoming that popular? What are the effects that has on our society and on us as individuals?

Firstly, one of the reasons shopping has become so popular is because it has an immediate satisfaction on us. In other words, when you buy something that you have been wanting for a while, the moment you have it, is gratificant and makes you feel happy and content. Furthermore, lots of people seems shopping as a moment for themselves to disconnet and have a break. It does not matter if is buying on a physical store or online through the internet, people really enjoy to take this moment and give themselves a little gift.

On the other hand, this increasing activity has effects on both individuals and society. I believe that shopping for pleasure, is something we have to be careful with. As individuals, if we do not take control over it, it would leds us on spending big amounts of money and time on things that we probably do not need and it would end on having lots of useful things. As a society, it will affect in our economy and we will consume things and generate tons of residues that we do nor need. Besides, it will increase differences bewteen people with big incomes who can afford shopping constanly, and people with lowers incomes.

In conclusion, shopping as a leisure activity may has a few benefits such as satisfaction and disconnection from reality, but in the end, I think it has more drawbacks in our economy and society, increasing disadvantages bewteen people with differences on their economies.