Shopping is becoming more and more popular as a leisure activity. However, some people feel that this has both positive and negative effects. Why is shopping so popular? What effects does its increase in popularity have on individuals and on society?

In a growing and developing society, shopping has become one of the most popular forms of leisure activity as it gives pleasure, and relaxation. People of different ages, especially young ones, find shopping as one of the best and most fun activities to do. The act of purchasing an item that a person wants to buy shows a sense of feeling of accomplishment and gratification.

In recent times, shopping has made a big impact on society, especially in the field of economic industry, the sales and profit directly contribute to the revenue of different types of businesses from small local stores to a large multinational establishments. In addition, it became more popular as the rise of online shopping led to growth with the help of advanced technology. Many people have a wide variety to shop at their convenience using different online platforms like Amazon, Noon, and Souq.

On the other hand, shopping can have adverse effects on some individuals due to easy access to credit cards which may lead to overspending, impulsive shopping, and consumer debt. In society, high demand for products can lead to the extraction of our natural resources, and waste and pollution may lead to environmental degradation due to the packaging materials.

Therefore, we should learn how to shop within the limits and value the hard-earned money. Prioritize our needs and monitor our spending habits.