Shopping is becoming more and more popular as a leisure activity. However, some people feel that this has both positive and negative effects. Why is shopping so popular? What effects does its increase in popularity have on individuals and on society?

There is no doubt that shopping is becoming a free-time activity for many individuals. People from all corners of the society spend a plethora of money to buy new products, which have both positive and negative effects on their lives. This essay will shed light on what those effects are, and how they are affecting the people and society in general.

The primary reason for increment in people’s shopping habits is the influence of social media and show off. People, especially youngsters, want to follow the superstars and their fashion-icon and desire to get everything that they have. For example, if a film-star is wearing some fancy jacket, it is most likely that children often demand the same from their parents as they see it on social media. Hence, parents are forced to waste the money on their children. The second reason could be opening of fancy and expensive branded shops in the local market. Hence, kids when they go with their friends for shopping, end up buys some unaffordable clothes and products.

This trend is affecting humans and the society in many ways. This ongoing trend is increasing the gap between the rich and poor. Buying expensive products is not a cup of tea for poor people, hence, only rich can afford those luxurious trends. This forced to increase the rich-poor gap in society, colleges, and public places. Moreover, with the opening of shopping centers has a detrimental effect on local people. With the opening of more and more shopping centers, people mostly avoid going to local markets, which is affecting their source of money.

Hence, this trend has mostly negative effect on society. Even though its gaining a lot of popularity though social media and through Hollywood, it is affecting the live of parents, local markets, and poor people. Hence, in my view, people should keep a track of their spending habits and try to live a simple life.