Shopping is becoming more and more popular as a leisure activity. However, some people feel that this has both positive and negative effects. Why is shopping so popular? What effects does its increase in popularity have on individuals and on society?

Shopping has become an inherent aspect of our revolutionised world. As the world has now become the global village, with the advent of technology people tend to opt shopping as their leisure time activity.

Increase in the use of social media people around the globe wants to keep up to date with the fashion trends. Its evident that shopping has both positive and negative outcomes. Individuals who are striving to become popular to have career in cinema or fashion industry needs to keep themselves updated with the on going fashion trends. Now work culture also demands to wear latest trends to attract more clients to boom their business.

In today’s social media world many influencers go to shopping and review about it online, this initiative prompt growing business to reconsider their marketing strategy leading them to opt strategies such as sending clothes of their brands to influencers as a public relation package and ask them to post their review online, this attracts giant number of audience.On the negative aspect lies the fact that some individuals face inferiority complex by not being able to do shopping due to poor financial resources,While some spend way too much on shopping and left with no savings.

With the rise in Inflation its not easy to cope with on going fashion trends. Increase in popularity of shopping has adverse effects on society. Fashion Industries around the world advertising the need to shop as a sign of success and wealth. Young generation moving towards crime because they are unable to buy wealthy stuff. People are now spending more on depreciating items just to keep up with the trends.

Overall, Shopping is a source of feeling happy as people feel confident about their well being, as it comes to individual responsibility to use their resources carefully.