Should coding be a mandatory subject in high schools? Give your opinion.

In our current world, the innovation of technology has continuously become more apparent in our daily lives. As a result, people have stated that coding should be a required subject taught in educational institutes. However, I believe that coding should not be a mandatory subject because it adds to the already heavy workload of students, it is not mandatory for every job, and it could instead be replaced with better options.

One of the reasons why coding should not be part of the subject list is that it adds to the workload of students. The current education system, which already includes more than 10 subjects not including extracurricular activities, is already physically and mentally draining for high school students to endure. As an example, a student may need to finish their math and biology homework on a given day while simultaneously preparing for a history test the day after. This situation is not uncommon for most high schools, and it often leads to problems such as stress and anxiety. By adding another subject to the mix, it could result in more mental health problems for students, which is not preferable when doing their academic studies.

Another reason why coding should not be mandatory is because not everything strictly requires it. To illustrate, a farmer would only need to learn how to manage their field, while a doctor would only need to understand their area of expertise, both of which does not use coding at all. A lot of technology has been made so it can be understood by everyone regardless of that background, and preparing students for a skill that they will never use thereafter is not worth spending the energy and time to implement it.

Finally, coding should not be a necessary subject because there are better options that can be implemented instead. Is it already known that subjects like math and English are more relevant in society, and getting hands-on experience to students’ interest can be more beneficial instead of coding lessons. A regular citizen may need some math skills to manage their economy, but if they are not working in a tech-related job, they may never use the coding skills they learnt from their high school.

In conclusion, coding should not be implemented as a required subject because it adds to students’ workload resulting in more stress, it is not required for every job, especially the ones that are not tech-related, and it the resources needed to implement it can be instead used for better purposes. Managing what is and isn’t required is the key for a better education and better future for both society and individuals.